The Equal Justice Coalition
7 Winthrop Square, 2nd floor
Boston, MA 02110-1245

Phone: 617-391-5633
Fax: 617-426-0656



2015 Reception

Stay tuned for details and photos from our 2015 Legislative Recognition Reception.

2014 Reception

VIew photos from the event

Read the press release

On Februrary 26, six current and former legislators were honored for their outstanding support of access to justice for low-income Massachusetts residents with critical civil legal problems. Among the honorees are the recipients of the Beacon of Justice and Champion of Justice awards. View photos and see the full list of honorees on our Facebook page.

2011 Reception

On the evening of December 1, the following five legislators were honored with the Beacon of Justice Award at the 7th Legislative Recognition Reception at Davis, Malm & D'Agostine. They were selected for their outstanding support of providing access to justice for low-income Massachusetts residents with critical civil legal problems:

  • Senator Stephen M. Brewer
    – Chair, Senate Ways & Means

  • Senator Cynthia Stone Creem
    – Chair, Senate Judiciary Committee

  • Representative Brian S. Dempsey
    – Chair, House Ways & Means

  • Representative Patricia A. Haddad
    – Speaker Pro Tempore

  • Steven A. Tolman
    – Former Senator & President, AFL-CIO

2009 Reception

The Equal Justice Coalition honored six Massachusetts legislators with the Beacon of Justice award for their outstanding commitment to civil legal aid during the FY10 legislative campaign. The event was held on November 17, 2009, at WilmerHale. The awards were presented by former legal aid clients and community representatives from the legislators' districts. Hon. John M. Greaney, retired associate justice of the Supreme Judicial Court, served as the master of ceremonies.

The honorees were: House Speaker Robert A. DeLeo (D-Winthrop), Rep. Charles A. Murphy (D-Burlington), Rep. Eugene L. O’Flaherty (D-Chelsea), Sen. Steven C. Panagiotakos (D-Lowell), Sen. Cynthia Stone Creem (D-Newton), and Sen. Patricia D. Jehlen (D-Somerville).

View photos from the event here and read the press release here.


Get Involved! Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn